AW wardrobe (part II)

I say part II, although part I never really existed. Well, it did but half of it disappeared. Anyway, the point is, that I have already written on this subject, but not managed to successfully post it, so I’ll try again. Phew.

There was a definite chill in the air on the school run this morning. In fact there was a force 10 gale blowing across the playground. As soon as September comes around, summer has gone in my mind. I love that autumny feeling not least as it means I get to think about clothes. I wore my new parka for the first time yesterday and it was just right. I’m going to use it as a starting point for the rest of my AW buys (which sounds as though I have a huge budget when I really don’t at all). No, what I need are a few ‘key’ pieces, but I must admit to being a bit confused by the what’s in the shops right now.

As far as I can gather, I need to buy the following:

Jeans – Skinny? Flared? No idea.

Trousers – like the peg/tapered style ones, but can’t get them over my calves and have no clue what the alternatives are.

Casual skirt – like the maxi style (and am tall enough to manage one), but can’t help but feel that a long skirt would drive me bonkers.

Tops – by which I mean everything from t-shirts to cardis. Don’t usually find these too hard to buy, but must be careful.

Above all, I want to buy clothes that go with other clothes, so that when I’m getting dressed in the morning, I can just grab a couple of things from the wardrobe and they will look good, no matter what. I couldn’t do that right now. None of my current clothes are multi taskers, so I regularly find myself in the situation where I have the bottom half sorted (you know, clean and ironed), but the only suitable top half will be in the washing basket (grubby and creased). This has got to stop.

The thing is that I like the idea of certain clothes, but for various reasons they’re not for me. The reasons are usually either that I’m too old or that my lifestyle is not compatible. I’ve come to realise that my wardrobe needs to be about 98% practical, with maybe 2% of glamour. I also want to be stylish without being a fashion victim.

Anyhow, with all of this in mind I intend to do a bit of online research and then perhaps head out for a bit of a spree in the coming weeks. Is it just me or does that sound exhausting?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

