Part-time Veggies

I used to be vegetarian. In fact, I didn’t eat meat for several years, more or less throughout my twenties. For me, it was a statement thing, showing other people that I had an opinion about animal welfare. It certainly wasn’t that I didn’t like meat and eventually the lure of a juicy burger or a tasty bacon sandwich became too much to bear and I fell off the veggie wagon.

These days, we eat meat regularly, but we try to have at least one (but more often a couple) of days each week when we don’t have meat for our main meal. This is mainly to do with the health aspect, but it also has the advantage of often being cheaper and sometimes actually tastier. If you already have meat-free days, then I’d love to hear some of your veggie meal ideas, if not then I urge you to give it a go. There’s a wealth of good veggie cookbooks out there as well as the ever increasing online resources. Here are a few dinners that we regularly eat:

Chick Pea Spicy – devised by G, this is a dish based around cous cous flavoured with veg stock and incorporates a variety of vegetables plus chick peas. We serve it with harissa and minty yoghurt (and sometimes pitta breads).

Halloumi and Potato Tray Bake – pinched from the fab Crumbs blog.

Chilli Bean Risotto

Vegetable Curry

Quorn Stir Fry with Noodles – use Quorn pieces instead of chicken and a pack of stir fry veg.

Quorn mince chilli or bolognese – same as the minced beef versions, but with Quorn mince

I find that so long as these dishes taste good, we don’t miss the meat!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Part-time Veggies

  1. We’ve been eating lots of veggie meals lately as I got the Every Day Veg River Cafe cookbook for Christmas. It’s got some great recipes in and I’m loving cooking veg I wouldn’t normally consider using as the main star in a dish. That halloumi traybake looks yum, I’m going to give it a go.

  2. Butternut squash lasagne is awesome. Slice butternut and roast it for 20 mins at 180 degrees. Make up a tomatoey sauce like you would for regular lasagne but just minus the meat (i even put beef stock in my sauce so its not a truly veggie meal…) and pop as many vegetables as you want in that sauce. Put the tomato sauce on the bottom then a layer of lasagne sheets, then a layer of the butternut with some wilted spinach, then cover that in white sauce, another layer of pasta, another layer of tomato sauce and cover it in cheese and whack in the oven. Sometimes best with a strong blue cheese if you like that kinda thing…

Leave a Reply

