Jean Genie

I had an unfortunate incident last week. I crouched down to get something from a low cupboard and heard an almighty ripping sound. On closer inspection the previously tiny tear in the knee of my jeans had split right across leaving a raggedy hole of the type which doesn’t suit a (almost) 38 year old woman.

Anyway, I was about to chuck them, but then saw sense and realised that there would be loads of ways of recycling them, so that’s what today’s post is all about. A kind of round up of uses for old denims.

Perhaps the most obvious way is to turn them into either shorts (easy, just snip of the legs ) or a skirt (trickier, but still straightforward). At least this way you still have something to wear.

If you’re not so bothered about that, then the world’s your oyster so how about making a tote bag, a rag rug or some handy little storage pot things. No? Then maybe a pair of denim slippers, a coffee cup holder or a cushion cover?

Little scraps and oddments are best for trinkets like corsages, hair clips, hanging decorations, coasters or stuffed toys whereas the back pockets can be perfect for purses, bags, wall storage hangers – really anything that requires a ready made sleeve or pouch.

It’s probably worth pointing put that you’ll need a sturdy needle on your sewing machine for most of these makes, by the way.

Once I started googling ‘uses for old jeans’, I found myself a bit overwhelmed by the possibilities. To be honest, some of the ideas were totally naff but others were brilliant. All I need to do now is decide what to do with mine. Of course, I could just patch up the hole or relegate them to ‘mucky job wear’ status, but that’s a bit dull, right?

Tell me more…

2 Comments

Filed under Craft and Creative, Fashion, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Jean Genie

  1. Denim is a really good fabric for making things out of! I have those little storage pots pinned, I think they are lovely but not sure that my sewing skills are up to it. I made some bunting with an old pair which I could just about manage! http://www.jenniferslittleworld.com/2012/03/denim-and-felt-butterfly-bunting.html

Leave a Reply

